Its Real Good and Real Funny Actually: Mike And Dave Need Wedding Dates

Mike And Dave Need Wedding Dates 3.5/5

Comedy movies are so hit and miss. You’re either in for a good time or you want to leave after a half hour. This is the former and I’m really happy it is.

I wish this movie was longer, or at least the gag real in the credits was longer. I loved it.

It probably helps that it is directly targeted at someone like me. The 20-something party person swiping through Tinder, drinking more than he probably should on summer weekends and makes sex jokes.

I really never thought much of Zac Efron, especially after that dumb DJ movie of last summer, but he comes to play here and I’m going to be much more open to seeing him in film going forward.

I think the best performance was either Adam Devine or Anna Kendrick. Both play their parts perfectly. Adam Devine steals a lot of the movie on his own.

The secondary characters all get their moments to shine and are hilarious. The dad, the fiance, the maid of honour, etc. All do great.

Also, if you’re around my age and Canadian you probably remember YTV host and VJ Sugar. Well, she gets her boobs out. Nice!

All in all, is it a bit by the numbers? Yeah. But that doesn’t mean its bad. Go get your laughs, have some popcorn, watch the B roll at the end and have a good night!

I’ve actually be really disappointed in movies this summer and just haven’t had enough care to go see giant fantastic crap piles like TMNT and War is Craft. Maybe X-Men’s bloated CGI fart-fest ruined me for a month. But Jason Bourne is coming out right away and my body is ready.

Previously:

To Come (at some point):

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out Of The Shadows (June 3)
  • Popstar: Never Stop Singing (June 3)
  • Warcraft (June 10)
  • Independence Day: Resurgence (June 24)
  • The Legend of Tarzan (July 1)
  • The Secret Life of Pets (July 8)
  • Ghostbusters (July 15)
  • Star Trek Beyond (July 22)
  • Jason Bourne (July 29)
  • Suicide Squad (August 5)
  • Sausage Party (August 12)