Review Medley: Don’t Breathe in a Sausage Party with the Lights Out

Lights Out 4/5

Such a god damn cool concept. The monster’s ability or whatever you want to call it is so cool and is used in such a great way. There are some great scenes you could tell the director came up with and built the movie around, and it works!

I can’t say enough about one scene that stuck with me, but I won’t spoil it. But its such a great and creative use of the monster’s powers.

I don’t like horror movies and I get scared easy in them. But everyone else seemed to be scared too. I was scared. I’m not a fan of being scared.

But this was still a good movie. I’ve seen horror films that take the thinking out of it and dumbs them down into horror themed action movies. I didn’t get that feeling here.

I was confused for a little during the movie previews when Don’t Breathe had it’s trailer played. I thought I was seeing a trailer for the movie I was sitting in.

Still though, good movie. Good scary.

Sausage Party 4.5/5

I love animated kids movies because they’re fun and creative, and this has awesome funny adult stuff all over it. Even better!

I’m pretty hit or miss with Seth Rogen as I’ve never really found “the joke is that he’s smoking weed!” or “dicks!” hilarious in his films. They almost get Adam Sandler-y in that if you’ve seen a couple, you’ve seen all of them.

But this was funny! Very creative, awesome puns, great jokes and the concepts and realization of the ideas are terrific.

I’ll probably watch this movie another two or three times because there is so much going on in the background. Every time you watch the movie you’ll probably see something new going on.

I can fully admit I see how this isn’t right up everyone’s alley. But for me, it was worth the price of admission.

You will never unsee what that turnip does ever again.

Don’t Breathe 4.5/5

Terryfing, thrilling, suspenseful and I basically crapped my pants so often I should have been wearing adult diapers to make it a bit cleaner.

This isn’t a horror movie but a great thriller/drama or whatever. All the actors are really good and how small and self contained the movie is really helps add to the tension.

If you’re familiar with the Daredevil Netflix series, then imagine Stick going ham on some kids.

Its a little bit less fantastical than since the… antagonist blind man is more regular dude who is badass than a ninja.

The sound design is excellent. Stephen Lang is excellent. The dumb kids are excellent.

Its unsure who you’re really rooting for almost the entire time. The Kids are turdballs that break and enter with intent to burglar. I think its something that makes the movie so compelling. You’re equally like “go Blind man!” and “RUN KIDS RUN!”

There is a twist prior to the climax which makes you re-adjust your rooting interests. Some more stuff happens. And then the end is also a great example of moral ambiguity. Top notch.

Previously:

To Come (at some point):

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out Of The Shadows
  • Batman: The Killing Joke
  • Keanu (currently on VOD)
  • XOXO (Netflix)
  • Central Intelligence (VOD)
  • Flock of Dudes (September)
  • The Masterpiece (TBA 2016)
  • The Accountant (October)
  • Jack Reacher: Never Go Back (October)
  • Doctor Strange (November)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (December)
  • Assassins Creed (December)

Mabes To Come:

  • Sully
  • Magnificent Seven
  • Snowden
  • Blair Witch
  • Keeping Up With The Joneses
8 thoughts on “Review Medley: Don’t Breathe in a Sausage Party with the Lights Out

  1. 11/10 title choice. Do you ever share your articles on any films sites by chance?

  2. Pingback: Streaming Reviews: Keanu, Central Intelligence, XOXO | @Adam_Pyde

  3. Pingback: TMNT2: Out Of The Shadows and Into The Cheese | @Adam_Pyde

Leave a Reply

