401 Words on Equality

Person: “Oh my god can you believe COMPANY is using a TYPE-OF-PERSON for (position)? Pretty rude to NOT-TYPE-OF-PERSONs! They’re a horrible company!”

Me: “All I saw was a person.”

equity_promo

(source)

I am a believer in equality. My definition is different though. I believe that you do not create equality through inequality. If all men are created equal then all men should be treated equal. But equality isn’t always fair. It is not equity.  So why is it often attempted by the creation inequalities?  If you have managed to become “improved” or “privileged” you should not be punished for it.

For example, I do not think it is right to tax wealthy people at a higher rate. I understand the temptation but the goal of society in the developed world seems to abundantly be that of equality. I do not think wealthy people should pay less tax but I do not think they should pay more tax. It is the same reason I am bothered by the principal when companies hire based on “quotas”. It imbalances the playing field in the attempt to balance it.  Isn’t the goal of companies, whether they say so or not, to serve their customers in the best way possible? So why wouldn’t you hire the most qualified person for the job? Who cares if that person is anything.

Imagine if you’re favourite sports team started to operate the same way? They’d be worse than the Astros and Jaguars put together.  Or Starbucks started hiring deaf people to take your order? Would it be okay if they kept screwing up your order because it is “fair”?

Everyone should be treated the same and not favoured because of a set of rules. Morgan Freeman has said something to the effect of “The best way to stop racism is to stop talking about it.” By continuing to imply to someone that ‘A’ is better than ‘B’ it will only continue that divide and further breeds the idea. Instead I believe that ‘A’ equals ‘B’ regardless of what ‘A’ and ‘B’ are and no preference should be given to either the same way no disadvantage should.

And yes, this is absurdly idealistic. I get it. I know. Naive? Sure. But isn’t the point of ideals to be idealistic?

(For clarity, to my knowledge I’ve never been a “victim” of any of this, but its the principal that drives me insane.)

(I’ll be back to social media Sunday)

Leave a Reply

